FG resumes payment of conditional cash transfer in Yobe

Spread the love

The Federal Goverment says it has resumed payment of backlog of stipend to 50,164 Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT) beneficiaries across 11 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Yobe.

Hajiya Sadiya Faruk, Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development said thos on Monday in Fika LGA.

Sadiya, represented by Hajiya Halima Shehu, National Programme Co-ordinator, CCT, said the programme was one of the social safety nets meant to improve the living conditions of the poorest of the poor across the 36 states of the federation and the FCT.

Speaking , Alhaji Ali Kagu, Head of Unit, Yobe Cash Transfer Unit, commended the federal government for its commitment towards uplifting over 2 million poor Nigerians out of poverty.

“In Yobe ,cash transfer unit commenced in the year 2019 with 11,793 beneficiaries.

“ Presently, the programme is implemented in 11 LGAs namely : Gaidam, Yunusari, Fika, Nangere, Bade and JJakusk, Gulani, Gujba, Damaturu, Potiskum and Nguru.

“There are a total of 50,164 beneficiaries across 284 communities in 44 political wards across the 11 LGAs”, Kagu said.

Murjanatu Bukar ,one of the beneficiaries, expressed gratitude over the gesture and promised to utilise the money for the purpose intended.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Yobe police command denies abduction reports of 20 policemen
Next post Buni tasks Tjjaniyya Group on peaceful Eid-el-Maulud