APC wins Yobe East by-election

Spread the love

APC wins Yobe East by-election

By Ahmed Abba

Damaturu, Feb 4, 2024 (NAN) The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Alhaji Musa Mustapha of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the of winner of Yobe East Senatorial by-election.
Prof Ibrahim Jajere, the INEC Returning Officer for the election announced the results on Sunday in Damaturu
” Umar Kalli of ADC party scored 452 votes, Musa Mustapha of APC scored 68,778 votes, Hussaini Auwalu of APGA scored 412 votes, Muhammed Jawa of NNPP scored 251, Kolomi Ali of PDP scored 18,878 votes.

“That Musa Mustapha of APC having certified the requirements of the law is hereby declared winner and is returned elected,” Jajere stated.

Shortly after declaring him a winner, Mustapha thanked people for their support.

He promised to work tirelessly to bring the needed development to the people of the zone and the state at large.

He commended INEC officials, security agencies and journalists for the dedication to duty.

Mustapha also thanked Gov Mai Mala Buni and entire members of the party for their unwavering support.
However, the PDP agent, Alhaji Bashir Sadiq, said that the election was not credible.

“There was open, brazing and unprecedented act of vote buying in almost all the place is I have visited and we have taken not of that,” he said.

He added added that the party would look at the results and come out with a position.
Commenting, Mr Victor Kalu, the Team Leader, Coalition of INEC Accredited Observer Group, said the election was transparent, credible, free and fair. (NAN) (www.nannews.ng)
Edited by Ali Baba-Inuwa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Yobe by-election records massive voters’ turnout
Next post Mustapha emerges winner of Yobe East Senatorial seat by-election