Mustapha emerges winner of Yobe East Senatorial seat by-election

Spread the love

Mustapha emerges winner of Yobe East Senatorial seat by-election

By Ahmed Abba
Damaturu, Feb. 4, 2024 (NAN) The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Alhaji Musa Mustapha of the All Progressives Congress (APC) the winner of the Yobe East Senatorial by-election.

The Returning Officer for the exercise, Prof. Ibrahim Jajere of the Federal University, Gashua,
announced the election results of the Saturday’s poll on Sunday in Damaturu.

Declaring the results, Jajere said: “One Umar Kalli of ADC scored 452 votes, Musa Mustapha of APC 68,778 votes, Hussaini Auwalu of APGA 412 votes, Muhammed Jawa of NNPP 251 votes and Kolomi Ali of PDP 18,878 votes.

“That Musa Mustapha of APC, having certified the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner and is returned elected.”

Addressing his constituents later, Mustapha thanked them for their support.

He promised to work tirelessly to bring the needed development to the area and state at large.

He commended INEC, security agencies and journalists for their dedication, sacrifice and hardwork.

Mustapha also thanked Gov. Mai Mala Buni and members of the party for their unwavering support.

In a remark, shortly after the result was announced, the PDP agent, Alhaji Bashir Sadiq, alleged some irregularities in the electoral process in some polling units.

“There was open, brazen and unprecedented act of vote buying in almost all the places I visited and we have taken note of that,” Sadiq said.

According to him, the party will sit down and look at the entire exercise and come out with a position.

The Team Leader, Coalition of INEC Accredited Observer Group, Mr Victor Kalu, however, described the exercise as transparent, credible, free, fair and in line with democratic tenets. (NAN)(
Edited by AbdulFatai Beki/Sam Oditah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post APC wins Yobe East by-election
Next post Observers laud peaceful conduct of Yobe East by-election